Washington State
Liquor Control Board Fact Sheet

Initiative 502’s impact on the Washington State Liquor Control Board

Summary

Initiative 502 would license and regulate marijuana production, distribution, and possession for persons
over 21; remove state-law criminal and civil penalties for activities that it authorizes. Tax marijuana sales
and earmark marijuana-related revenues. The new tightly regulated and licensed system would be similar
to those used to control alcohol.

Licenses and Fees

Creates an application process that mirrors the liquor license application process

Creates three new marijuana licenses: producer, processor, and retailer. The fee for each license is a
$250 application fee and $1000 annual renewal fee.

e Marijuana Producer: produces marijuana for sale at wholesale to marijuana processors and
allows for production, possession, delivery, distribution.

e Marijuana Processor: processes, packages, and labels marijuana/marijuana infused product for
sale at wholesale to marijuana retailers and allows for processing, packaging, possession,
delivery, distribution.

e Marijuana Retailer: allows for sale of useable marijuana/marijuana infused products at retail
outlets regulated by the WSLCB.

The initiative allows the WSLCB to charge fees for anything done to implement/enforce the act. For
example, fees could be charged on sampling, testing, and labeling that would be the cost of doing
business as a licensee

Marijuana Taxes
The initiative creates three new excise taxes to be collected by the WSLCB:

e Excise tax equal to 25% of the selling price on each sale between licensed producer and
licensed processor. Paid by the producer.

o Excise tax equal to 25% of the selling price on each sale of usable marijuana/marijuana infused
product from a licensed processor to a licensed retailer. Paid by the processor.

o Excise tax equal to 25% of the selling price on each licensed retail sale of usable
marijuana/marijuana infused product. Paid by the retailer. This tax is in addition to any/all
applicable general, state, and local sales and use taxes, and is part of the total retail
price.

¢ All funds from marijuana excise taxes are deposited in the Dedicated Marijuana Fund.
Disbursements from the Dedicated Marijuana Fund shall be on authorization of the WSLCB or a
duly authorized representative.

Initiative 502 allows for the WSLCB to enact rules that establish procedures and criteria for:
¢ The equipment, management and inspection of production, processing, and retail outlets.
e Books and records maintained by licensed premises.

e Methods of producing, processing and packaging of marijuana/marijuana infused products, to
include conditions of sanitation.



e Standards of ingredients, quality, and identity of marijuana/marijuana infused products
produced, processed and sold by licensees.

e Security requirements for retail outlets and premises where marijuana is produced and
processed.

Retail Outlets

Specific number of retail outlets and licenses will be determined by the WSLCB in consultation with the
Office of Financial Management taking into account population, security and safety issues, and
discouraging illegal markets. The initiative also caps retail licenses by county.

¢ Retail outlets may not employ anyone under the age of 21, nor allow anyone under the age of
21 to enter the premises.
¢ Retail outlets are only authorized to sell marijuana/marijuana products or paraphernalia.

¢ Retailers are allowed one sign identifying the outlet’s business or trade name, not to exceed
1600 square inches.

e They are not allowed to display marijuana or marijuana related products in a manner that is
visible to the general public.

Possession
If enacted, individuals twenty-one years of age or older are legally authorized to possess and use
marijuana-related paraphernalia and any combination of:

¢ One ounce of useable marijuana;
e 16 ounces of marijuana infused product in solid form; or
e 72 ounces of marijuana infused product in liquid form.

Individuals will still be subject to criminal prosecution for:

e Possession in amounts greater than what is listed above.

e Possession of any quantity or kind of marijuana/marijuana infused product by a person under 21
years of age.

Price

The Office of Financial Management places a price estimate of $12 per gram. Medicinal marijuana
dispensary prices on average range between $10 and $15 per gram with some premium products
exceeding $15 per gram.

Based on average retail mark-up practices, estimated producer price is $3 per gram and estimated
processor price is $6 per gram.

Timeline
e November 6, 2012: Public vote on Initiative 502.
e December 6, 2012: Initiative 502 goes into effect (30 days after general election).
e December 1, 2013: Deadline for the WSLCB to establish the procedures and criteria
necessary to implement the initiative.
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